SOUTH INDIAN ALLIANCE for FUNDAMENTAL RIGHT TO EDUCATION (SIAFFRE) – Bengaluru Declaration

Representatives from Andhra Pradesh, Goa, Karnataka, Kerala, Puducherry, Telangana and Tamil Nadu working on child rights in general and on right to education in particular participated in the deliberations, for two days at Bengaluru, on the 13th anniversary of the enactment of the RTE Act, and the status of the implementation of the Act. We note with great concern, that the Fundamental Right to Education implementation is poor and compliance is far from satisfactory.

We resolve to constitute the SOUTH INDIAN ALLIANCE for FUNDAMENTAL RIGHT TO EDUCATION (SIAFRE)

We believe in the following principles:

- 1. Education is a social good and a tool for emancipation and social transformation
- 2. Education is a fundamental right, guaranteed by constitution, and essential for realising our constitutional values and goals
- 3. Oppose all forms of privatisation, commercialization, commodification and stratification of education
 - 4. Inclusive Education is essential part of equitable quality

We will work for

- 1. Strengthening public education system and make every government school a neighbourhood common school, to ensure care, protection, nutrition and equitable quality education for all children from 0 to 18 years
- 2. Advocating for adequate funding for realising the fundamental right, for which at least 6% GDP on Education is required to be invested, as recommended by Education Commission, 1966 and reiterated in all subsequent policies
 - 3. 100% compliance with the norms and standards prescribed in the RTE Act, 2009
- 4. Enhance the awareness level amongst people about the aims of Education, and Education as a fundamental right
- 5. Strengthening School Management Committees, to play their role envisioned in the Right to Education

Endorsed by:

Andhra Pradesh

N. Prakasa Rao

Kommu Ramana Murty

S Madhusudhana Raju

Goa

Elvis Gonsalves

Russell Coutinho

Karnataka

Babu Mathew

Basavarj Gurrikar

Thimmaya Purle

Chandrashekar Nugli

Gurumurthy Kasinathan

Niranjanaradhya V.P.

Ravi Ganesan

Mathew Muniappa

Kumaraswamy T

Kerala

Babu N

C.K. Dinesan

Puducherry

K.R. Mathew

Tamil Nadu

Murthy K

Prince Gajendra Babu

Telangana

Murali Mohan Chikku

Gongalla Ashok